Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Cold Start Help - Toyota 3F-E engine+wolf V500 + Eaton M90

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Hello crew,

Good to be on board, have been a lurker for a while, haven't found anything quite to answer my question so decided to post, please be nice!

My background is mainly mechanical injection diesel engines but I've decided to get with the current times and work with an ECU.

I have a 1986 Toyota LandCruiser FJ62 with a 3F-E engine out of an 80 series cruiser - 4 litre straight 6, 12 valve, factory EFI engine swapped in - originally this had a carby engine. Also got Bosch 044 pump, 440cc supra injectors (from memory) Eaton M90 off an L67 Commodore and a homebrew intercooler setup. ECU is a wolf V500, ignition is LS coils for each cylinder.

My issue is mainly around starting, especially cold start but hot start isn't great either.

Cold Start generally involves a fair bit of cranking until the engine sounds like it wants to fire, at which point with a bit of throttle she'll try to start, if I open and close the throttle rapidly and repeatedly she'll start. After a few seconds of this, seemingly the ECU will get things figured out and she'll settle into a good cold idle, 1000ish rpm which is the target in the ECU.

If battery voltage is lower than 12ish volts, i.e. been sitting for a few days, this process becomes a lot more drawn out and when she starts there will be a lot of popping etc out the exhaust like there's a build up of fuel somewhere there. Very rarely when trying to do a low voltage start, it'll sound a bit like the starter can't turn over the engine, almost like hydraulic lock due to excess fuel or something.