Sale ends todayGet 30% off any course (excluding packages)

Ends in --- --- ---

Trigger issues haktech platinum 1000 and 36-2 + 1 home

General Tuning Discussion

Forum Posts

Courses

Blog

Tech Articles

Discuss all things tuning in this section. News, products, problems and results. 

= Resolved threads

Author

Hi as the title says I'm running a Haltech platinum ecu on a 4 cylinder engine using a 36-2 teeth wheel on the crank and a 1 tooth triggerwheel on the cam.

I recently changed my 12 tooth trigger wheel for a 36-2 wheel and cannot get the car to run right.

This is my first time running a missing tooth trigger wheel and I'm having problems with the engine not running right. Ignition angle mostly where it should be, but sporadically jumps around.

When I'm looking at the "triggers since last home" counter in the ECU, it alternates between 33 and 69 triggers since last home.

I was expecting to see 68 triggers since last home, but are not sure if this is correct as it is my first time running a missing tooth wheel.

For more context here are the specs

ECU is Haltech platinum 1000

Engine is 4cyl 3SGTE

Home trigger wheel is a 1 tooth wheel, basically a circle with a slot cut into it (have been running this exact wheel for years without problems)

Trigger on crank is a standard OEM Toyota 36 - 2 wheel located on the timing belt gear.

Sensor type for both home and trigger is hall sensors (also used theese with the same ecu sucsessfully in the past)

So I guess what I'm asking is what would the trigger vallue since last home be? In my mind it is 36-2 =34 teeth x2 = 68 triggers since last home, but i'm not able to get this vallue. only alternates between 33 and 69 for some reason.

Any tips that could help me out is very much appreciated.

I will include pictures of the trigger wheels to avoid confusion.

Thanks

Attached Files